The shortlists for GR’s inaugural MEA Risk & Insurance Excellence CEO Awards have been announced.

Voted exclusively by the region’s leading executives, Reinsurer CEOs’ CEO, Broker CEOs’ CEO and Insurer CEOs’ CEO awards will be presented on Sunday 27 September at a gala dinner event at the Four Seasons Hotel, Dubai.

Only chief executives at the region’s largest companies were eligible to vote for whom they most admired in the marketplace. The individual with the highest number of votes will be presented with the award.

To find out more about the event and to book your place, click here.

MEA Reinsurer CEOs’ CEO Award

  • Yassir Albaharna, ARIG
  • Gunther Saacke, Qatar Re
  • Corneille Karekezi, Africa Re
  • Fahad Al-Hesni, Saudi Re
  • Mahomed Akoob, Hannover Re Takaful
  • Fadi Abu Nahl, Trust Re
  • Bernd Kohn, Munich Re
  • Jean-Jacques Henchoz, Swiss Re
  • Ronald Chidiac, Arab Re
  • Femi Oyetunji, Continental Re


MEA Broker CEOs’ CEO Award

  • Farid Chedid, Chedid Re
  • Garbriel Bejjani, Nasco Karaoglan
  • Zuhair Atout, Apex
  • George Kabban, UIB
  • Tony Saada, Lockton
  • Robert Makhoul, Marsh
  • Ahmed Rajab, Aon Benfield
  • Nagib Bahous, Ace Holding
  • Peregrine Towneley, JLT Specialty


MEA Insurer CEOs’ CEO Award

  • Bassam Hussein, Doha Insurance Company
  • Khalifa Abdulla Al Subaey, Qatar Insurance Company
  • Abdul Zahra Abdullah Ali, National General Insurance
  • Imad Abdel Khaleq, Jordan Insurance Company
  • Ahmad Idris, Abu Dhabi National Insurance Company
  • Michael Jensen, AIG
  • Patrick Choffel, Oman Insurance Company
  • Abdellatif Abuqurah, Dubai Insurance Company
  • Adel Moussa, Misr Insurance Company
  • Ashraf Bseisu, Solidarity Group Holding

A further eight awards will be handed out on the night, including MEA Industry Achiever of the Year and MEA Risk Manager of the Year. These awards and shortlists are:

MEA Commercial Broker Initiative of the Year

  • Marsh
  • UIB
  • Apex


MEA Commercial Insurer Initiative of the Year

  • Jordan Insurance Company


MEA Business Partner of the Year

  • Moody’s
  • Bin Shabib & Associates
  • Ebix Europe
  • Milliman


MEA Risk Communication Strategy of the Year

  • IRM Jordan & Palestine
  • Dana Gas
  • Abu Dhabi Airports
  • Emirates Transport


MEA Enterprise Risk Management Programme of the Year

  • Dubai Roads & Transport Authority
  • Qatar Foundation
  • Dana Gas
  • Abu Dhabi Airports
  • Marsh


MEA Best Risk Financing Approach

  • Marsh